What I Want to do in Antarctica

I try and keep my blog post on Thursdays, but yesterday was so busy with the last of my doctor appointments that I put it off for a day. The good news is, everything is normal and it looks like I am going to be medically cleared to go to Antarctica! Almost done going through the last hoops and my plane tickets can be booked. So far I have talked about the history of Antarctica and clarified my research project, so now I am going to talk about the things I want to do in Antarctica. So in no particular order, here are my non-related research goals in Antarctica, well some are research related.

ice cave

Ice crevasse led to an ice cave.

1) I want to take a lot of pictures. Ones so clear, you feel cold looking at them.

2) I want to see penguins, seals, whales, and dolphins in their natural habitat.

3) I want to catch a lot of icefish (research related, but also personal goal).

4) I want to see something I have never seen before.

5) I would like to see sea butterflies, mollusks, and other neat invertebrates.

6) I want to ride in a zodiac boat.

7) I want to make very good connections for my future endeavors.

8) I want to do my research really well, and be a great help to the other scientists.

9) I do not want to mess up. (But I generally do not like messing up in my daily life also)

10) I want to stand on a glacier. ( The next four I might not be able to do, but I can dream right?)

11) I want to hike a glacier.

12) I want to explore a crevasse or ice cave.

13) I want to sleep in a tent outside.

(And I want to be warm, I do not think that is to much to ask.)

14) I want to dip my toe in the Southern Ocean.

15) I want to learn a lot, meet great people, and make more friends.

(Because would it not be cool to eventually say you met people on every continent.)

Weddell seal basking in the sun, and snow, in Antarctica

Weddell Seal basking with zodiac boat in background.

**Ice cave from http://www.dandantheweatherman.com/inside.jpg

**Weddell Seal from http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Travel/Pix/gallery/2012/10/4/1349360487595/Weddell-seal-basking-in-t-009.jpg

One thought on “What I Want to do in Antarctica

Questions/Comments?